Lattes in the Rain

Autumn at the antique shop near my apartment.

Autumn at the antique shop near my apartment.

On Wednesday, Jason took me to Benelux after work for 2 for 1 beer night. It looks like a very dingy bar from the outside, but the inside was very classy! It was decked out with contemporary furniture and lighting, large windows, mirrors, and filled with attractive people. The beer there is $8 a pint, but as it was 2 for 1 night, it was very affordable. The music was fantastic and we had a lovely time.

I decided to stay in on Thursday. After work, I came home and watched episodes of Are You Being Served and Keeping Up Appearances before going to bed at a reasonable hour. I got two invitations to go out, one from Jason and another from Tay, but I just couldn’t be bothered. I needed a cozy night in.

Friday was my day off, so I slept in, cleaned the apartment, and went grocery shopping. Dunter happened to have the day off too, so he dropped by at 3:00 and we hung out for the rest of the day. He took me out to a little Chinese restaurant near my house for dinner where I had a big bowl of soup. Then, we went to see Dead Snow, a German horror/comedy about Nazi zombies. I was clinging to Dunter the entire time as I have never seen so much gore in my life. I kept thinking how much Chris would love this film if he saw it. I wonder if it’s playing in St. Catharines?

After the movie, Dunter and I went to Philips Lounge to meet up with our friends. Giro gave me advice on selling insurance, Eva and I discussed the photo shoot I will be working with her on, and Julian, Jason, and I just talked about normal university things.

Dunter wasn’t in a very social mood that evening, so drove me home relatively early, where I picked up my bicycle and rode to Nicole’s house to hang out with her and Caro. We ended up having a big sleepover. As Aria was gone that night, I slept in her big comfy bed. It was wonderful!

At 7am the following morning, their black kitten Apollo woke me up wanting to play. He was adorable! He kept burrowing under the covers, then jumping up onto the windowsill. He was so cute!

On my way to work Saturday morning, I went to the grocery store. I picked up two bottles of Vitamin Water and a bottle of Gatorade (Margaret’s wise woman advice) to aid with my slight hangover before heading to telemarketing. I ended up having a rather amusing day at work, as I had one man go on about how beautiful my voice way and I should work in broadcasting or voice acting, another man tell me his sad life story, and then another two people yell at me for calling their house multiple times in a week.

After work, I went over to Emily’s house to give her a computer lesson. On the way, I decided to stop in the small grocer’s near my old sublet at Berrie and Cherrie. They had big avocados on sale for .77 cents, almond milk for $2.50, and my favourite vermicelli for $1.99. I was absolutely thrilled!

The computer lesson turned out to be more of a social hang-out than anything educational, but it was fun none-the-less. We were both yawning away my 11pm though, so I bicycled on home. I meant to go to bed straight away, but then got distracted by looking at shoes on the Internet until 2am.

Sunday was a miserable day; cold, cloudy, grey, and rainy. At 3:00, I met up with Tay at Art Java to confirm that we were just friends (I feel like this would be a mutual agreement) but he had such a horrible weekend that I figured now was not the time. His ex-girlfriend has been stalking him again, and he literally had to run to the coffee shop in order to avoid her as she was waiting outside his door. I listen to his stories in disbelief, as he seems to have dated such crazies, yet he’s such a sweet, smart, and handsome guy!

We only hung out for an hour, which was until our lattes were sipped dry from our white mugs. Tay and I gave each other a light hug goodbye where he said “I’ll call you Tuesday.” which is making me think that he maybe the one who is going to say “We can only be friends.” thing. I hope that we stay friends. He’s such a nice guy.

I decided to go to bed early as Sunday was not a very nice day to be awake in. I watched a 1949 noir film called Too Late For Tears then went to bed. It was a pretty bad film about a housewife that goes on a murder spree. It really only got interesting in the last half hour when hidden identities were revealed.

I woke up early the next morning and worked on some logo for Campus Co-op. The Lowther Division Rep asked me to design them a logo to be used on Facebook, and I’ve been putting it off due to all my socializing and drama. Now I should probably get ready for work now. I’m still in my pajamas! Aaa!

One response to “Lattes in the Rain

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read….

Leave a Reply

