In the Autumn Sunlight

A staircase in the dappled sunlight (near the laundromat)

A staircase in the dappled sunlight (near the laundromat)

Montreal has been sunny and just a tad chilly this weekend. I enjoyed sitting by the window at work and looking out on the red and yellow maple tree below; the sun amplifying its colours. It grows by the old church there, adding colour to the grey and black stone and concrete of the urban landscape.

My weekend was relatively busy. After work on Friday, I took the metro to Papineau to go to a movie night my friend DB was hosting in his house. It was in a part of the city I was unfamiliar with and I got rather lost, wandering the dark steets at night. I eventually found Rue Cartier which he lived on- but to my surprise, there was a big park in the middle of it, so I had to take a detour.

Once I finally got to the apartment, I couldn’t find a buzzer for Apartment 1, so phoned up Dunter who was there… and found out I was in the wrong building! I felt rather silly, but was glad once I was finally indoors. DB made me some spaghetti with a spicy meat sauce (so yummy!) and I sat down next to Dunter with everyone in the livingroom. DB was a very good host. He kept offering us cookies and coming over to refill everyone’s glass with water whenever it got empty. I like hanging out at his place!

The 1979 film Caligula was being projected on the wall- and my god, it was more shocking than A Clockwork Orange! I tried to distract myself away from the horrors being committed on screen by focusing on the cosmetics and the costume design used in the film. I think everyone was glad when the film ended. I was in a state of shock, and wondering how a film like that ever got the funding or distributed- especially back in the 70’s. (I did some research, and it turns out it was funded by the founder of Penthouse magazine… thus the reason behind the abundance of sex scenes in this historical drama).

My work day at telemarketing on Saturday was particularly unpleasant as people were particularly nasty to me on the phone. At one point I just wanted to get up and leave, but of course I couldn’t. My sanity was saved however, by the Stanza application on my iPhone. My friend Tristan had encouraged that I get it, and I’m so glad I did! I secretly sat in my seat reading the digital version of Alice in Wonderland on my cell phone, hiding it under my thigh whenever my supervisor was near.

I had never read Alice in Wonderland before. My Dad had begun to read it to me once as a child, but I didn’t like it at the time (perhaps it was too scary?). It is a pleasure to read now. I enjoyed the oddities of it and the descriptions used. Its quite a funny book and served as an excellent form of escapism in-between taking calls at work. I am saved!

After work, I went out for dinner with Dunter to celebrate him getting a teaching gig at Shibaricon. We went to Georgeo & Angelenia, a restaurant chain I’ve only seen in Montreal. I was a bit skeptical of the place at first, but their pasta was fantastic! I got fresh fettuccini in a white wine sauce, superbly flavoured with garlic and spice, with a variety of mushrooms, and spinach on top. Yum yum!

After dinner, we went to go see a movie at the theatre to kill time before the party. There wasn’t much to choose from, so we decided to go see The Stepfather. It was a suspense thriller about the ideal American family. It wasn’t all that scary. Your fear of what may happen was more apparent than what actually happened, although I missed the climax of the film when I stepped out to use the washroom. I was rather surprised to find the film ending when I returned- I’d only been gone for five minutes!

After the movie ended, we drove to a party near Papineau. Dunter and I were both very tired, so we just lounged on the couch for the duration of our stay. Rob was there, so I chatted away with him for awhile. I met a chap named Edward who went on about how I should be a member of the French Resistance for Halloween as I’ve already got the beret down pat. I thought he was very funny.

Dunter and I drove home around midnight, and I went to bed, awaking at 1:00 the next morning. I was in disbelief when I looked at the clock on my bedside table, but after checking the time on my iPhone, had come to realize that I had slept in to a ridiculous hour. I had such plans for my day off: go to Mount Royal and the Jean Talon market… but instead I had to prioritize and go to Canadian Tire, Provigo, and Zellers with the time still left in the day. How dull!

Now I’m about to leave to go have dinner with Nicole. She has a bunch of random stuff in her kitchen so we’re going to make something unusual to eat. She’s been feeling under-the-weather lately, so I’ve made her a DVD off films I’d thought she’d like, including Fanny Hill, Fido, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, and Youth Without Youth. I hope she likes them! Well, off I go now… ta!

Leave a Reply

