Summer Again

Yes, its cold outside.

I had a pleasant week. I spent Friday and Sunday evening at the Salon de L’Amour et de la Seduction, Montreal’s version of the Everything To Do With Sex Show. Dunter was teaching 12 workshops over the weekend there, so I went to visit him, but I got easily distracted by the performances on the main stage. There were aerial dancers, muscular men in uniform doing sex dance routines, and classy burlesque performances! So much to look at…

Once the Show closed on Sunday, I went out for dinner with Dunter and some friends at Carlos & Pepes, a popular Mexican pub which sells tacos and nachos for $1.50 and beer for $4 on Sundays. Everyone was speaking French at the table, so I had a silent conversation with my pint of beer instead. The food was good! We had a mini feast, and afterwards we went to see the film Avatar in 3D.

I had never seen a film in 3D before. When I got my ticket, they gave you a pair of glasses that looked like the signature pair Buddy Holly wore- much nicer than the 3D glasses one gets in cereal boxes! The film was entertaining, but had a strong Walt Disney feel to it with the sugar coated story of aboriginals gaining back taken land and saving Mother Earth. In real life, they never got their land back and one could argue the Earth is doomed. The film was a bit ironic in that sense.

Monday and Tuesday just consisted of work and sleep, but on Wednesday night I met Nicole for beer after work. It was 2 for 1 night at Benelux, a fancy pub which brews their own beer. The place was packed full of students and Nicole kept running into people she knew from McGill University where she goes. We shared a ‘Euro Dog’ which was a sausage on baguette with sauerkraut and Dijon mustard. It brought back memories of Austria for Nicole, so she was very happy eating it. It was yummy!

On Friday, I went to see an opera with Nicole & Carlo. It was called The Rakes Progress by Igor Stravinsky and was put on by the McGill Opera. Nicole and I were quietly giggling all through the show (it was a comedy). Aria, Nicole’s roommate was the assistant stage manager, which made it even more fabulous for us to watch! The opera was very good.  I really must go to the theatre more often. It’s always such a pleasure!

After the show, we went out for crepes. We shared a large crepe filled with nutella, strawberries, and bananas. The creperie smelt like an ice cream shop (the familiar scent of freshly made waffle cones) and had tropical murals painted on the wall. It made us feel like it was summer again- except there was snow outside the window.

And now I sit at home, very happy indeed! It may be cold outside, but its nice and warm in my apartment! So lovely…

Leave a Reply

