My Mound of Sugar

Marzipan cakes

Marzipan delights at Cafe Baleze.

Today was an ‘entertaining’ day. I started training for a new campaign at telemarketing today, selling credit card insurance for American Express. When I arrived at the classroom for 9:30 this morning, I found the room empty. I asked people around the office, but no one had any idea about the campaign I was talking about. So, I phoned my friend Ana who told me that the time had been changed from 9:30 to 10:30am, which had been announced on my day off.

I went to Java U, a nearby café where I had a coffee and muffin, then spent the rest of my spare time wandering the handbag section of The Bay to admire the designer purses. However, when I returned to the classroom, I found there was still a lack of work-colleagues! Fortunately, I found my friend Barb in the cafeteria who exclaimed “Why, didn’t you receive a call from our supervisor the other day? Training has been switched from 10:30 to 11am!” … I felt very unloved by my telemarketing agency…

When 11am rolled finally around, our supervisor informed us that there had been a miscommunication (not another one!). He had been told that American Express would be giving us the training, but American Express thought that he was giving us the training… Which resulted in us waiting another half hour until he and the American Express representative figured things out.

Training was very dull and there were many contradictions between our supervisors and the Amex representative. It was hard to stay attentive during class, so I went for coffee during our afternoon break. I went to Cafe Baleze, a little café with a true bohemian vibe to it. It is darkly lit, with a collective array of random vintage furniture and art on the wall, similar to Le Cagibi. However, Cafe Baleze always have the most amazing marzipan cakes in their counter, often shaped as fruits. This visit, they had pastel-coloured hearts decorated with edible heart-confetti and sparkles! They were $3 each, so I took photos of them instead of eating them. They looked delicious. One day I will eat one.

When 5:30 finally rolled around, and I went downstairs to meet Dunter. The Contemporary Art Gallery of Montreal was offering free admission from 5 to 7 that day, so we decided to check out the spring exhibits. I was excited to go view art with him as it was something we’d never done together. Unfortunately, only two of the 7 galleries within the building were open, and the two that were open suited neither’s cup of tea. We were in and out of the gallery within 10 minutes.

After the art gallery, we decided to walk around for a bit. Dunter was hungry, so we went to a small café where he got a sandwich. I wasn’t hungry, but there was a gigantic cinnamon bun covered in chocolate which I just had to have! Dunter, of course, bought it for me and I sat happily away with my mound of sugar and chocolate as he contently munched away on his healthy sandwich. I couldn’t fathom the idea of dinner afterwards- I was too full! So, I went home and had a nap.

After my nap, I hung out with Jen, my new roommate. We sat in the living room for a while and discussed work, internships, and school. Now I sit at my computer, where I can hear the Montreal Canadian fans screaming outside. The team must have won the game. Montreal will be filled with very happy tonight!

Leave a Reply

