A Wicker Basket

Even the back alley's of Montreal see tender-loving-care.

Even the back alley's of Montreal see tender-loving-care.

It was sunny and beautiful on Tuesday, so Jason and I took advantage of the good weather and bought me a ‘new’ bike. We called a guy (Tom) who repaired old bikes and sold them on Craigslist. His repair shop was down a little alley in the Orthodox Jewish neighbourhood in Montreal, nestled between tilted garages and practical gardens. I arrived before Jason, and listened to a long political rant from Tom until Jason rode in on his new road bike.  I can always trust Jason to be a jaw-dropper. The men love him for his fancy bicycles, and the women love him for his incredibly good looks. Tom was no exception, and was ga-ga over Jason’s bike.

Jason helped me haggle the price and trade in my new bike for a 1970’s blue and chrome bicycle. It was difficult saying goodbye to my beloved green bicycle, but he assured me it was the right decision.

We then rode to the Velo Quebec Café to have lunch and purchase some accessories for my new bike in their boutique. I bought a wicker basket for the front, and a back attachment for me to add a milk crate or panniers to at a later date. We then sat on the patio with our bicycles, sipping coffee and munching on sandwiches as we watched the people go by. Come noon, we rode back to his and Val’s apartment where I left my bike so he could put my baskets on and tweek my bicycle while I was at work.

When I returned from work, I found my bicycle in the same condition as I’d left it. Jason had apparently been distracted all afternoon, so he Val and I did a group effort preparing my bike. Afterwards, Val invited me in for tea and showed me the new sewing machine Jason had bought her for her birthday. It does 200 different kind of stitches and button holes even! Its very impressive.

On Wednesday I went to see the dentist about my toothache. I’d been having pain down the side and back of my mouth for almost 2 weeks. I figured it was just my wisdom tooth growing in and the pain would eventually go away, but it soon became intolerable and worrisome.

Jason warned me that such things could get easily infected, which had happened to him and the surgery was so bad he couldn’t go to school for a whole week! Fortunately, my mouth wasn’t infected. The dentist instructed me to rinse with warm salt water (as I’d already been doing) and sent me home with a $109 bill. I felt rather gypped, but happy to know I didn’t need surgery.

On Thursday, I had a job interview for a position as a Sourcing Assistant at a small Quebec-based company called Joshua Perrets. Leaning from past experiences, I took a taxi to the corporate  office, extensively researched the company, and recited over and over again why I was a good match for the company. I knew I was perfect for the position, but expressing this in a convincing manner when my nerves were on high was a rather pressing manner.

The office was full of Anglophone young people and everyone seemed laid-back. The interview was very short, which generally not a good sign. However, I left the interview room unsure on whether it had been a success or not. I had answered all her questions with relative eloquence, and truly felt I had expressed my candidacy well. The only thing she had shown distaste was in my answer to salary expectations. Apparently $12 – $15 an hour is high…

After my interview, I went home and ate a tub of yogurt, a cinnamon croissant, and coffee to drown my post-interview anxiety in sugar and dough before going to work. I didn’t make a sale at telemarketing that day, which makes 3 days in a row, which is very worrisome. Perhaps Joshua Perets will save me?

3 responses to “A Wicker Basket

  1. That is positive that the office was filled with Anglophone young people.

  2. I want to see a picture of your new bike!

Leave a Reply

