Coo & Flutter of Wet Feathers

Lettuce leaf with cutlery.

Salad: perfect summer food!

I am currently sitting listening to the pigeons coo and flutter outside my window. They seem particularly lively today. Perhaps it’s the rain that cooled everything down? Living creatures now feel capable of moving. There’s nothing better than a good rain on a hot summers day!

I made a sale at telemarketing on Thursday, which was a relief as I’d yet to make one that week. After work, I met up with Dunter and Raquel at the Fantasia opening party. It is arguably the most popular film festival in Montreal. I had been excited about the party all week, but I was so exhausted after work that I spent most of the evening backstage lounging on the big velvet sofa while Dunter and the performers got ready and rehearsed their routines.

After the first act, Dunter took me out for a late-night dinner, hoping food may energize me. We went to the 3 Brasseurs where I had a delicious salad of fresh greens, smoked salmon, mini shrimp, avocado, and hard boiled eggs. It consisted of everything I liked!

The food didn’t energize me much, but a voice-mail on my phone about a job interview did! I had replied to an ad on Craigslist for employment at Canadian Fashion Design, claiming to be a high-end fashion company. The possibility was exciting.

Friday began with a phone-interview for the ‘fashion company’. It was perhaps the strangest interview I have ever had in my life. The interviewer started off by being overly apologetic about taking 3 days to get back to me after receiving my resume (really, that’s not long at all), then went on to ask me if I was currently employed, with her second question asking how old was I (!!).

I was rather shocked at the age question, as I know it is illegal for employers to ask that. I politely answered “I don’t see how this pertains to the interview.”, followed by her asking the question a second time as if she didn’t hear what I said. So, I rephrased and answered again “I’m sorry, I don’t wish to answer that question.” which she abruptly said “I don’t think you’re right for our company. Goodbye.” and hung up before I had a chance to say “Thank you for taking the time to speak with me today…” Our conversation lasted exactly a minute, and I closed my iPhone in a state of bewilderment at how unprofessional and odd the interviewer had been towards me.

I had a hard time shaking off the icky-feeling the interview left me with. I went to the laundry mat, did some grocery shopping and housecleaning, cleaned out my closet an shoe rack, went on an unsuccessful search for a clothing drop-off box, then went to the mall to buy a fan. Unfortunately, both Canadian Tire and Zellers were sold-out of fans and I was told they were not getting anymore in.

Dunter and I ate a simple dinner on Saturday, followed by ice cream at Ben & Jerry’s. We then went to the Fantasia film festival to see The Message. It was a Chinese spy-thriller set in the 1942, which the critics had described as an Agatha Christie-style WWII drama. I’m all for Agatha Christie and historical dramas, but the film proved to be a bit too intense for my tastes. The cinematography was lovely but certain aspects of the film were far too graphic for my tastes, even if they were merely suggestive. I shut by eyes during the scary bits.

Sunday morning, Dunter and I went for a walk in Il-des-Visitation. I saw a black crown night heron in the same place as before, but no blue herons or ducks this time. I amused myself taking photos of flowers and scrambling over rocks by the river. It was pleasant.

I had a lazy afternoon napping and preparing more cold-coverletters and application follow-ups. I’ve been keeping all the windows open in hopes of catching a breeze, but all I catch is the arguments of neighbours, other’s music, unknown animal noises, and mumbled conversations of people at the garage. Oh the joys of apartment living…

2 responses to “Coo & Flutter of Wet Feathers

  1. Hi Nell, good for you for not answering the age question. As a matter of fact, it’s against human rights legislation in Canada to ask about age and employment status as criteria for employment.

  2. Employment Status too? Now way! I get asked that one almost every time!

Leave a Reply

