May Flowers

Little spring flowers!

Little spring flowers!

I had a most enjoyable weekend – most apt for the beginning of May. Dunter and I had a pancake brunch as usual on Sunday, again using chocolate milk and mixing berries with the mix. We had a lazy afternoon, but went out for tea and cake at a café around 4:00. I then bicycled to the library to check my email and pick up some CDs.

I had recently been going through my iTunes library on my computer and realized I had very little Mozart, Purcell, and Handel. Unfortunately the Grande Bibliotheque was closing by the time I got there, so I only had time to snatch up two CDs from the Handel section.

As it was a warm and sunny day, I decided to go for a walk. I text-messaged some friends to see what they were up to, and was invited out for a vegan all-you-can-eat buffet with Mladden and Peter. We ate non-stop for 2 or 3 hours- it was crazy! I don’t think I’ve eaten so much tofu and vegetables in one sitting before!

I got up early on Sunday morning. I did some work on my bicycle, affixing a side basket. I decided that one wasn’t enough, so rode down to Mount Royal to get another basket to put on the other side of my bicycle.

Dunter and I met up that afternoon for a picnic. We went to Premiere Moisson to purchase focaccia made with raisins and pecan nuts, pork pate made with virgin olive oil and herbs. For dessert, I picked out a macron sandwich with cream and fresh raspberries in between the biscuits and Dunter ordered an unusual-looking chocolate moose.

We ate our picnic under a tree in the park listening to the live music all around us. After we ate, Dunter set up a hammock and we relaxed watching the clouds overhead.

Later, we went for a walk, window-shopping at the boutiques, ending the afternoon by stopping in a café for Chia lattes. Dunter and I said our farewells at the metro station which he took home.

As it was May 1st, I was excited to go plant shopping. I went to two small outdoor plant shops and filled my bicycle’s baskets with marigolds, thyme, lavender, dill, and a lemon geranium. I rode home very pleased with myself and planted then in pots on my balcony. They look very pretty!

In the evening, I made a big pot of vegetable stew to last me the week. I watched an episode of Wycliffe, ate some Easter chocolate, and did the dishes. Now I sit at the computer listening to Handel. The sun is setting on a beautiful day! It has been a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

