The Teasing Storm

A rumbling thunderstorm teasing us from afar.

With the end of June and the beginning of July, I realized I only had 2 more weeks left in Montreal. So, I focused this week on having fun!

With my new part-time hours, I had Wednesday off work this week. I met up with Hania and went to a yoga class with her at the Y which was fun. We then went out for a light lunch where we sat and chatted for awhile. She is always great conversation!

In the evening I met up with Mladen. We sat in a diner for hours laughing and telling stories. I didn’t get home until far past my bed time, but I hadn’t laughed so much in a long time. We were both telling such funny stories about life.

I had a quiet night in on Thursday doing beading and watching Inspector Linely mysteries. The following afternoon, I met up with Dunter and we went down to the Old Port of Montreal. We checked out the Canada Day festivities, but it was too crowded and loud for my tastes, so we wandered the quiet cobblestone streets instead, away from the tourist traps. The old-time charm of the neighbourhood was captivating.

Later on, Dunter’s friend Jay came down to visit from Boston. When he arrived, we went for a walk, stopping to enjoy a cold drink on the terrace where we could watch the people go by.

The following morning we went out for crepes. I had a crepe topped with raspberries and cream, Dunter had sausages rolled up with crepes, and Jay had French toast made from cinnamon buns! It was most decadent.

We took advantage of Jay’s SUV by going to Home Depot to buy shelving for Dunter’s apartment and to pick up boxes for my moving.  It was a very hot day, so Dunter and Jay decided to go see a movie in the air conditioned theatre. There wasn’t any movie on that appealed to me, so I went home to nap.

I met up with Valeria at the end of the afternoon. We went to the Jean Talon Market where we had ice cream (I had masala chia flavoured gelato) and picked up a baguette, fresh goat cheese, organic Quebec-grown strawberries, and Turkish delight for a picnic.

We then went down to Parc LaFontaine where we ran into our friend Eva there which was nice.  After saying hello, we went to find a bench overlooking the pond to eat our dinner. We watched the dogs go by, the ducks swim in the pond, and a child’s ball float across the placid waters of the pond by a soft breeze. It was very peaceful there.

In the evening, I met up with Dunter again where we went to Mount Royal with Jay and his friend Katrina who happened to be on vacation in Montreal from DC Washington. We watched the Saturday fireworks from the top of the mountain, then were content just watching the city skyline at night.

In the morning, I made Sunday breakfast with turkey bacon, eggs, toast, and berries from the market. We went to Mount Royal again where we met up with Katrina who had been showing the mountain’s view of the city to her family after discovering it with us last night. We found some shade and lay in the grass relaxing for a long time together. It was the perfect thing to do on a Sunday afternoon.

We had a late lunch where we went to Dunn’s for Montreal’s famous smoked meat and poutine. Katrina had never had poutine and became a fan. However, I must confess, that I ate most of it. I love poutine!

We then went for a walk by the LaChine Canal. It was thundering and lightening for most of the walk, but didn’t rain until we got home which was lucky!

We took Jay and Katrina to Juliette & Chocolat for more decadence. Dunter had a banana split, I had a thick hot chocolate with ice cream on top, Jay had a chocolate Sunday topped with fruit, and Katrina had a chocolate and strawberry crepe with a chocolate hazelnut martini.

Now I sit as home listening to the French radio and the constant whir of my fan. My apartment is full of empty boxes which I am uninspired to pack. Strange to think I only have 2 more weeks left until I move… then no more Montreal Moments.

One response to “The Teasing Storm

  1. Barbara Robinson

    I always love to read your blogs…I do hope you continue these blogs when you leave Montreal…I find them most fascinating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

