Gladiolas & Slate

Dog lying next to a bouquet of gladiolas

I decided to come down to Niagara for the weekend, and its a good thing I did as it turned out to be a hot weekend – and my place in Toronto is a sauna! Mum and I went for buck-a-shuck oysters at the Queens Landing Hotel on Friday, checked out the snazzy new outlet mall in Niagara (Banana Republic? Rudsak? DKNY? Eee!), and watched lots of Poirot and Endeavour on TV.

Today, we took Rupert (Mum’s dog) for a walk in Short Hills before going to the St. Catharines Farmers Market. I had a wonderful time wandering around the busy vendors from whom I bought potatoes, beets, and cheese to bring back to Toronto. I also treated myself to an interesting loaf of bread (jalapeno Hawaiian bread) and a bunch of gladiolas. Mum got a bunch too (well, she always has – for as long as I can remember). They were beautiful – particularly against the blue slate in the front room when we came in:

Bouquet of red and purple gladiolas

gladiola leaves on the floorMum made soup for lunch when we got home from the market. It was a beautiful shade of green, frothy fresh spinach and cream cheese, garnished with herbs from the garden. This was followed by olive bread and horseradish cheddar from the market. Delicious!

Spinach soupAnd after we had rose tea and spelt brownies from De la Terre Bakery in Vineland. And people wonder why I go home to Niagara so often…

Table set for tea and brownies

 

 

Leave a Reply

